“期许:身份”

2019年01月24日 - 03月9日

为2019新的一年打响头炮,方由美术将展出一场重点打造的群展 "期许:身份" 。围绕著 "身份" 这一与社会现实密切相关的话题,艺术家们将分享他们对其进行的探索、表达与思考。我们以展览的形式,以艺术作为媒介,去吸引更多人关注与自身、社会、文化等息息相关的社会意识,我们冀以开放的精神、对艺术纯粹的热爱,透过是次展览引起并启发更多的人对这议题的关注。

四十年前,纽约见證了第一场正式的同志遊行,以正向的立场对抗社会对LGBT群体的歧视和暴力,在宣扬他们的自我肯定、尊严、平等权益的同时,也提升了他们作为一个社会群体在社在社区中的辨识度和影响力。三十年前,女性主义艺术团体 "游击队女孩" (Guerrilla Girls) 发佈她们的经典海报,上面列出了艺术行业中女性所持的具讽刺性的 "优势" : "在没有成名压力的情况下工作;永远不和男性艺术家参与同一场展览;被再叁确认不管创作出什麽样的艺术,你的创作永远只会被标籤为『女性化』。" 艺术本身总是处於当代社会最普遍、最具争议性和思考性的议题中心。

在这个社会及政治身份从包容走向分裂的全球化时代,在国际时装品牌Dolce & Gabbana辱华事件,美国的 #MeToo反性骚扰运动之际,化解身份歧视的诉求一直主导著社会上的时事头条。方由美术认为:在当前的时代氛围裏,艺术家和画廊所要扮演的角色并非只是享受某种主流对话之外的美好孤立,而是应该主动引导大众思索其中的议题。当艺术从混杂的新闻中合成并提炼出一个主旋律,我们希望会从中看到一种团结而非分裂的信息。

现居香港的郑智礼(Chilai Howard)和现居北京的姜吉安均藉著自己的作品,进行了自我反思并确立了自我认同感。郑智礼以动态图像和混合媒介装置展开一场思辨之旅,而姜吉安则贯彻他 "日常艺术" 的概念,重现个人物件的价值。李洪波以纸质雕塑而著名,由纸和胶所构成的雕塑不仅结构巧妙,更从静止而木讷的状态转化成了一幅幅不可思议的图画,无声地宣示著思想的自由。受2010年4月3日发生的一些与自由有关的事件所启发,艺术家彭薇开始每日於手腕画一只腕錶来记录和纪念当刻的想法和感受。最终,她绘製了81块手錶,成为了一个既私人却又引人共鸣的艺术系列 "彼时彼地" 。徐华翎将创意和混合媒体糅合在一起,创作出两幅精妙的画作,透过细腻的笔触,分享追寻生命和自我存在的灵感之旅。

"期许:身份" 让艺术家们分享在当代艺术中对於身份探索的贡献与成就,探讨和表达个体身份的热情与力量。这次展览以 "身份" 作为研究及表现的核心,试图以艺术的形式探究性别、社会或种族背景各式的身份--这些议题都与社会现实密不可分。

我们相信全球普遍性的同时,也相信人性是共通的。这次展览的出发点在於相信平等源於自身和我们对待他人的方式。在现今这个重要时刻,我们更需要肯定并讚扬艺术家们的热情和力量。在艺术的渲染力之下,我们能找回属於自己的一席之地。透过这股力量,我们希望可以继续为创建一个真正平等的世界而贡献和努力。

Anticipation

24 January - 9 March 2019

Galerie Ora-Ora is delighted to kick start the year of 2019 with Anticipation, a dynamic group exhibition that shares the passion of artists who explore, express or investigate the identity of people in contemporary society. This exhibition plans to join the social awareness related to the current most prominent issues on personal, social, and cultural identity like gender, culture and heritage, expressed with empowerment in the form of art. We hope that by anticipating the spirit of openness, the love of art itself, that this exhibition will draw attention to these issues and influence future decisions individuals make.

 

Almost forty years ago in New York City marked the first official Gay Pride march, the positive stance against discrimination and violence toward LGBT people to promote their self-affirmation, dignity, equality rights and increase their visibility and recognition as a social group and community.  Thirty years ago, the Guerrilla Girls distributed their poster The Advantages of Being a Female Artist, which listed the following ironic “advantages” for women in the arts: “Working without the pressure of success. Never being in shows with men. Being reassured that whatever kind of art you make it will be labeled feminine.” Art itself has always been central to what has now become one of the most pervasive, all-consuming debates of our times.

 

In the age of social identity politics world-wide shifting from inclusion to division, from the recent scandal of fashion brand Dolce & Gabanna in China, to the Hollywood #MeToo movement, the need to dismantle discrimination barriers continue to dominate the headlines. The role of an artist and of a gallery is not to enjoy the splendid isolation outside of this mainstream conversation, but to channel, amplify and dissect the issues that drive it. Artists themselves, both male and female, will respond to the debate in their own way. As art synthesizes and distils the news cacophony into its essential note, the result, we believe, will be a message of unity rather than division.

 

Both Hong Kong based artist Chilai Howard and Beijing based artist Jiang Ji’an prospect for the sense of self-identity and soul-searching through their artworks. Chilai Howard explores speculative affairs using moving images and mixed-media installation, while Jiang applies his concept of “everyday art” to recreate the value of personal objects.

  

Due to events related to restriction and freedom that occurred in China on April 3, 2010, Peng Wei began to draw wristwatches, one per day, to record and commemorate her thoughts and feelings. 81 watches were drawn in the end, forming a personal yet very relatable artwork “That Time and That Place”.

 

Finally, to juxtapose the creative and mixed-media works are two delicate paintings by Xu Hualing who, through her delicate brush strokes, share her own journey of self-manifestation to search for inspiration for life and self-existence.

 

Anticipation asserts the potential of the art world to create a forum which is, as far as possible, embraces identities as they are self-proclaimed or regarded. At Ora-Ora, we like to imagine a stage where an artist's identity is not a defining consideration for judgment, but rather, the art itself, its message (or its silence), its power (or its fragility), is the only mechanism for moving forward. When this point is achieved, true openness and communication in form of the arts will be. Who knows how such freedom would further stimulate and empower all artists?

  

Just as we believe in our globality, we also believe in our shared humanity. Now is the vital time to celebrate and reaffirm the passion and dynamism of artists, when the art alone speaks, and everyone’s rightful place has been secured in the pantheon of artists. Through the power of celebration, we hope we are contributing towards creating a world of true equal opportunity for all individuals.